When you experience an injury that results from another person’s negligence, you could be eligible for legal damages. This type of financial award covers lost wages, medical bills and other costs associated with the accident.
These answers to common questions provide valuable information about Connecticut personal injury lawsuits.
When can I file a lawsuit?
The statute of limitations is two years in Connecticut for a personal injury case. If you file after that deadline, the court will dismiss your case. One exception occurs when the person whom you believe caused your injury leaves the state. In this case, you have seven years to file a legal claim. If the person concealed his or her actions, the “clock” begins when you discover the fraud.
Different rules apply if you want to sue the city or county. For example, this would apply if a child fell in a municipal park because of dangerous conditions and required medical care. In this case, you must provide the applicable agency notice of your claim within six months.
What if I have partial fault?
Return to the example above. The incident with the child occurred on a broken swing. However, the parent took a phone call and became distracted while the incident happened. In this case, the court may find that the parent has 10% of the fault.
If the child’s medical care cost totaled $15,000, the court would reduce this award by your fault percentage ($1,500). This concept, modified comparative fault, limits damages to those at less than 50% fault for an incident.
What type of damages are available?
Connecticut allows those injured by negligence to collect damages for medical costs, lost wages, and non-monetary expenses such as pain and suffering. The state currently has no limit for personal injury award amounts.
You should see a doctor right away if you experience a debilitating injury. Keep copies of all medical records and bills in case you decide to pursue a legal claim.